Emergency and medical forms must be submitted to the school at the beginning of the school year. New York State law mandates that no child be admitted to school for the first time without proper immunizations. Also, any pre-existing medical, emotional, or physical condition which could create difficulties or in any other way be challenging to your child in our programs, should be called to our attention, in writing, with proper release forms authorizing us to access information from the respective attending specialist, i.e., speech therapist, physician, psychologist, etc. This release should be included with your child’s health form.
Parents are encouraged to report to the school office or to the child’s teacher signs of fatigue or trends of behavior which may cause one to suspect the beginning of physical illness. It is also important that the school be notified immediately if a child contracts anything contagious (strep, chicken pox, lice, hepatitis, influenza, etc.).
According to New York State Education Department policies, which apply to public and private schools alike, if your child shows symptoms of illness (e.g., temperature of 99.6°F/37.6°C or more), s/he should not be in school. Children must be “fever-free” without medication for a full 24 hours before returning to school. They will be monitored closely for any of the above symptoms and will be returned home when the situation warrants it. A student who is recovering from a bacterial infection should not be sent to school until s/he has been on antibiotics for a full 24-hours. A child must be healthy and not on medications such as fever reducers, anti-nausea or anti-diarrheals.
When in doubt, take the precaution of keeping your child at home. His/her recovery is likely to be faster if s/he remains at home. Moreover, it is manifestly unfair to expose other children or staff-members to a sick child’s illness.
Students who are sent to school ill or who become sick during the school day will be sent home.
Medication may not be carried by a student except in special conditions such as severe allergies, breathing problems, or other conditions deemed necessary by the student’s physician. In such cases, a written order from the physician and a written request from the parent is required for any student to carry and self-administer medication.
Medication may be given in school only if it is absolutely necessary (most medication schedules can be arranged so that a dosage during school hours is avoided) and is on a doctor’s standing order. Over-the-counter medication must be sent in its original container, labeled with the name of the medication, patients name, dosage, accompanied by a written request by the parent and approved by the school district medical director. Prescription medication must also be in its original container from the dispensing pharmacy accompanied by a written request from the prescribing physician, a written request the parent, and approved by the school district medical director.
Medication should not be transported daily to and from school. Parents must bring medicine to remain in school.
If there are any questions or concerns about the above health regulations, please consult the School Nurse. Our School Nurse is on duty Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
In September, a physical examination is required for all students in Nursery, Kindergarten, 2nd, 4th and 7th grades, students participating in sports, as well those who will be new to Kadimah Academy. It must be in before the first day of school.
The physical exam must be dated within the past year to be valid for the 2014-2015 school year.
This is a New York State mandate and carries a $2,000 fine per student. Your conformance will be greatly appreciated!
Please submit the “Physicians Health Assessment” form (below).
If you have any questions, please call the school office at 836-6903.
For students entering 6th grade in September. Due to continuing widespread outbreaks of pertussis (whooping cough), the NYS Department of Health is now mandating that students who are 11 years of age and older and entering 6th grade receive a booster immunization of Tdap. Ten year old students entering 6th grade will be required to receive the vaccine when they turn 11 years old.
Please make arrangements for this vaccine booster and have the Please submit the Tdap Immunization form (below) completed by your child’s physician and returned to the school Health Office prior to the start of the school year in September.